I’m really looking forward to the journey my new team and I will go on together

We recently caught up with Adam Leach, who is the
Regional Sales Manager (RSM) for Bournemouth & Southampton Region.

When did you joined TUI?
I joined TUI in July 2009 as a Travel Advisor working in the Coventry Contact Centre in our Pre Travel Customer Services team. After joining TUI I immediately fell in love with the brand and made some fantastic relationships with the people that I worked with.

How did your career progress?
Having expressed my desire to learn more and progress, I was enrolled on our internal development scheme called LEAP which taught me key skills in how to progress into Team Leadership and Management. After receiving so much investment in my personal development I was keen to remain at TUI and was really appreciative of the time and money invested in me.

I completed two years of the LEAP programme learning key skills in how to get the best out of people through coaching and feedback and took part in various projects designed to improve our business process and efficiencies.Adam Leach 2

During this time, I progressed through the Contact Centre Leadership Team from Team Leader to Team Manager responsible for 6 Team Leaders and around 100 members of staff handling inbound phone calls from customers, TUI Travel Agents and third party travel agents.

How did you move across into retail?
After 3.5 years in our Coventry Contact Centre I wanted to try something new and thanks to our commitment in our people and their progression, I was able to easily move into a new role in a different business area. In October 2012 I moved out of the Coventry Contact Centre and went to run my very own TUI Retail Store in Birmingham to take on a completely new challenge but use all of the key skills I had been taught in a different part of the business.

In Spring 2013 I was promoted to Deputy Superstore Manager at our Coventry Superstore and later progressed to Superstore Manager responsible for my very own multi million pound turnover store and over 20 staff.

You have also worked in our Head Office?
In late 2015 an opportunity came up to work in our Luton Head Office in our Retail Business Support team during the modernisation of our key selling system. Using the experience I had gained by moving around different business areas earlier in my career, I was successful in my bid to become the Retail Business Design & Implementation Manager. I was responsible for the successful design and implementation of our retail selling systems and standardising the approach the business adopts in its technology deployments.

So, when did you become RSM for Bournemouth and Southampton?
In 2016 an opportunity arose for me to move back into the Retail Estate. Having gained a wealth of experience in people management and working in numerous business areas I applied and was successful in my application to be the new Regional Sales Manager for Bournemouth and Southampton responsible for 26 of our TUI Retail Stores reporting into our Divisional Sales Manager for the South & Ireland. I’m really excited to take on my new challenge this July and having taken my Deputy Retail Managers away already for the launch of the TUI Discovery on their Leadership Development Conference, I’m really looking forward to the journey my new team and I will go on together.Adam Leach

Tell us a bit more about yourself
I love travelling, cruises and always have a holiday booked… My favourite place would be Australia. I love South East Asian food and my dream holiday would be a Singapore and Thailand multi- centre! I’ve just bought my first home with my partner that is currently being built.

Thank you for your time Adam 🙂

Leave a Reply

