My apprenticeship was a really beneficial way of learning about the industry

I started working for TUI 6 years ago as an apprentice Travel Advisor in the Thomson Retail Store in Crawley. Whilst studying for a BTEC travel and tourism at sixth form I realised that I really enjoyed studying the travel and tourism sector and this would be the area I would eventually like to work within.

Whilst studying my AS level in travel and tourism I came across the apprentice Travel Alex RetailAdvisor position advertised on www.tuijobsuk.co.uk . I decided to apply for the position as I had always wanted to work within a travel agency. I completed my application and was invited to attend the assessment day and interview, I was lucky enough to be offered the position.

My apprenticeship was a really beneficial way of learning about the industry, whilst I was working and earning money at the same time (in an environment that quite often related to my NVQ coursework).

After I completed my 2 year apprenticeship I was then able to apply for and get a position as a Travel Advisor. The apprenticeship really helped with my confidence, as I had to widen my knowledge on the industry.

I worked within the Crawley store for a further 2 years and then decided to look at another job role within TUI. I was really interested in trying something different and when I looked on the website I discovered a temporary position as a Recruitment Administrator within Head Office.  I was lucky to be given the opportunity and took the role on as a secondment, allowing me to try working in a different area of the business, and after 4 months of working in the role it I was made permanent.

Alex OfficeI have now worked within the head office for nearly two years and am really enjoying doing my role. I believe that the apprenticeship put me in a really good position to further my career within TUI and within the travel industry.

Leave a Reply

