With the help of my apprenticeship scheme I was able to develop myself

We recently spoke with Chloe Palmer who is our Retail Manager at Alton (Bournemouth Southampton region). Chloe started her career as an apprentice:

AXA Mystery Shopper“My TUI journey started in August 2013 when I joined the company as a modern apprentice at the Cosham store. I had recently completed my A Levels and had no travel or tourism experience but was keen to join the industry and develop my knowledge and retail skills. I completed a NVQ Level 3 apprenticeship in travel and tourism which helped me with my confidence, service skills and my travel knowledge. I had regular visits with my assessor and was given work to complete and topics to study during my study time at work. Within my first two years as an apprentice I was lucky enough to go on two educationals and various training days and ship visits with my team in Southampton.

After completing my 2 year apprenticeship scheme I spent 6 months as a travel advisor in a bigger and busier store before being promoted to assistant manager. During my year as an assistant manager I worked closely with my retail manager and regional sales manager to develop my leadership skills and went on to win Assistant manager of the year withinARM Award (2) my region. I was lucky enough to attend a conference on board Thomson’s newest cruise ship the TUI Discovery and also went on an educational trip to Mexico. After a year of hard work I was promoted to retail manager and now run my own store.

When I first joined TUI as an apprentice I lacked confidence, retail experience and product knowledge but with the help of my apprenticeship scheme I was able to develop myself in all of these areas. I wouldn’t be where I am today without this experience and will always be grateful for the opportunity and support I received from my managers and colleagues throughout my journey. Working for TUI is great as there are endless opportunities and career prospects for all of their employees and I can’t wait to see where my journey will take me next!”

Leave a Reply

